Bouquet & Garter Toss

3 May

This was the group of single ladies from my own wedding reception… needless to say the one who ended up with my ‘toss bouquet’ isn’t even touching it in this picture!

Dating back to the 14th century, the bouquet toss was born out of the bride’s desire to stop her guests from tearing and ripping her wedding dress – it was considered that everything the bride touched was good luck!

Nowadays, when the bride tosses her bouquet (often these days a smaller, tossing bouquet is used so the bride can keep her original*), she is passing along her good luck to a single woman that she will be the next to marry.

As with the bouquet toss, the garter toss began in the 1500’s; only this tradition began as a way to make sure the marriage had been consummated.  The bridesmaids and groomsmen would sneak up to the couple while they slept in their wedding bed and take proof that the “deed was done” by grabbing the bride’s garter; then worn to hold up her stockings.

For my own wedding, I decided to wear two garters. One garter was worn by my mother at her wedding for my 'something borrowed' and a new garter was given to me by my best friend for my 'something new!'

For my own wedding, I decided to wear two garters. One garter was worn by my mother at her wedding for my ‘something borrowed’ and a new garter was given to me by my best friend for my ‘something new!’

These days, the garter is removed at the reception (keeping unwanted guests from the couple’s bedroom) by the groom, showing that the bride is all his, and is flung to single men as they might catch it and gain some “luck” of their own.

Not sure which leg to place the garter on? Left? Right? Does it really matter? Honestly, it doesn’t matter. Garters were made to keep stockings up on both legs… so it’s up to you! Keep the groom guessing.

*{Toss bouquet} Many brides today are opting for a small arrangement of all baby’s breath, silk flowers or even a smaller version of their own bouquet to throw to the single ladies. Many brides want to keep their own bouquet and preserve it for years to come!

Leave a Reply

